GEPI

From instrumental design
to scientific exploitation
Home > Scientific Pole > Stellar and Galactic physics

Stellar and Galactic physics

The scientific theme of the Stellar and Galactic Physics team is twofold. On the one hand the study of the structure and properties of our Galaxy and the galaxies of the Local Group, to constrain their formation and evolution, on the other hand the study of the fundamental properties of stars, such as their internal structure and the associated physical and chemical mechanisms.

The Gaia sky
This image shows Gaia’s all-sky view of the Milky Way and its satellite galaxies based on measurements of almost 1.7 billion stars.
Credits: ESA/Gaia/DPAC, CC BY-SA 3.0 IGO

Our team, a pioneer in space astrometry with the Hipparcos satellite, is deeply involved in the Gaia space mission. It has played a major role in the design of the instruments and in particular the Radial Velocity Spectrometer (RVS). Today, the team contributes to the Gaia-DPAC consortium in the processing of spectroscopic data (for which it is responsible) and multiple systems, as well as data validation. In particular, the team led the validation of the first two Gaia catalogues (DR1: September 2016, DR2: April 2018) and the production of the largest catalogue of stellar radial velocities containing more than 7 million measurements.

We are also deeply involved in the design of the WEAVE spectroscopic surveys at the William Herschel Telescope and MOONS at the VLT, with the French responsibility for the WEAVE survey.

In addition to the characterisation of the fundamental properties of stars and the physical properties of the Galaxy, our team also combines a strong expertise in modelling. We develop advanced chemical evolution models to describe the evolution of galactic stellar populations, as well as to reconstruct the stellar formation of our Galaxy; we develop dynamic and chemo-dynamic simulations to model the key evolutionary processes of a disk galaxy like ours (satellite accretions, formation and evolution of the stellar bar and bulge, secular evolution); we develop hydrodynamic simulations to model stellar atmospheres (effective temperature, granularity, velocity fields) and the impact their structure has on chemical abundances.

Our expertise thus allows us to cover a wide range of themes and spatial scales: from the first stars formed in the Milky Way, and mainly distributed in the stellar halo, to the most metal-rich stars in the disc and bulge; from the structure of the interstellar medium to the history of gas accretion in our Galaxy as a function of time; from globular galactic clusters to the dwarf galaxies of the Local Group.


Zoom sur

GEPI

De la conception instrumentale
à l’exploitation des observables
Accueil > Pôle Scientifique > Physique stellaire et galactique

Physique stellaire et galactique

La thématique scientifique de l’équipe Physique stellaire et galactique comprend deux volets. D’une part l’étude de la structure et des propriétés de notre Galaxie et des galaxies du Groupe Local, pour contraindre leur formation et évolution, de l’autre l’étude des propriétés fondamentales des étoiles, comme leur structure interne et les mécanismes physiques et chimiques associés.

Le ciel vu par Gaia
La vue de Gaia sur notre Voie lactée et les galaxies voisines, basée sur les mesures de près de 1,7 milliard d’étoiles.
Credits : ESA/Gaia/DPAC, CC BY-SA 3.0 IGO

Notre équipe, pionnière de l’astromètrie spatiale avec le satellite Hipparcos, est très fortement investie dans la mission spatiale Gaia. Elle a joué un rôle majeur dans la conception des instruments et en particulier le spectrographe Radial Velocity Spectrometer (RVS). Aujourd’hui l’équipe contribue au sein du consortium Gaia-DPAC aux traitements des données spectroscopiques (dont elle a la responsabilité) et des systèmes multiples, ainsi qu’à la validation des données. L’équipe a notamment piloté la validation des deux premiers catalogues Gaia (DR1 : Septembre 2016, DR2 : Avril 2018) et la production du plus grand catalogue de vitesses radiales stellaires contenant plus de 7 millions de mesures.

Nous sommes aussi très fortement engagés dans la conception des relevés spectroscopiques WEAVE au William Herschel Telescope et MOONS au VLT, avec notamment la responsabilité française du relevé WEAVE.

A la caractérisation des propriétés fondamentales des étoiles et des propriétés physiques de la Galaxie, notre équipe associe aussi une forte expertise en modélisation. Nous développons des modèles d’evolution chimique de pointe pour décrire l’évolution des populations stellaires galactiques, ainsi que pour reconstruire la formation stellaire de notre Galaxie ; nous développons des simulations dynamiques et chemo-dynamiques pour modéliser les processus clés d’évolution d’une galaxie à disque comme la nôtre (accretions de satellites, formation et évolution de la barre stellaire et du bulbe, évolution séculaire) ; nous développons des simulations hydrodynamiques pour modéliser les atmosphères stellaires (temperature effective, granularité, champs de vitesse) et l’impact que leur structure a sur les abondances chimiques.

Notre expertise nous permet ainsi de couvrir une large gamme de thématiques et d’échelles spatiales : des premières étoiles formées dans la Voie lactée, et principalement distribuées dans le halo stellaire, jusqu’aux étoiles les plus riches en métaux du disque et du bulbe ; de la structure du milieu interstellaire jusqu’à l’histoire de l’accrétion du gaz dans notre Galaxie en fonction du temps ; des amas globulaires galactiques jusqu’aux galaxies naines du Groupe local.


Zoom sur