GEPI

From instrumental design
to scientific exploitation
Home page > Projects > The 3D-NTT spectrograph

The 3D-NTT spectrograph

The 3D-NTT instrument is a 3rd generation spectro-imager which will be installed as a visitors’ instrument on the ESO NTT telescope at La Silla, Chile. It will offer two observing modes, a low resolution one with a tuneable Fabry-Perot interference filter for low interference orders and a high resolution one with a standard sweeping Fabry-Perot and a filter with synchronous tuning. This instrument is built in partnership with the Laboratoire d’Astronomie de Marseille and the Université de Montréal (Canada).

This instrument is aimed at two key scientific programs. The first consists of the observation of ionized gas in nearby galaxies, which have been observed elsewhere in all possible wavelength domains from the ground and from space. The second is aimed at detecting galaxies with high star formation rates around quasars in order to check if quasars with high luminosity in the ultraviolet inhibit star formation around them. If confirmed, this will put strong constraints on cosmological models.

The 3D-NTT will also allow a large variety of other programs, in particular those dedicated to the study of galaxy evolution. All these programs are particularly well adapted well to the Tuneable Filter mode. The High Resolution mode will make it possible to study the kinematics and dynamics of galactic or extragalactic objects (planetary nebulae, individual galaxies, interacting galaxies, …).


Zoom sur

Accueil du site > Les projets > Le spectrographe 3D-NTT

Le spectrographe 3D-NTT

L’instrument 3D-NTT est un spectro- imageur de 3ème génération qui sera installé comme instrument visiteur sur le télescope NTT de l’ESO à La Silla, au Chili. Il offrira deux modes d’observation, un mode à basse résolution avec un filtre interférentiel accordable Fabry-Perot d’ordre interférentiel bas et un mode à haute résolution avec un Fabry-Perot à balayage standard et un filtre accordable balayé de manière synchrone.

Cet instrument est construit en partenariat avec la Laboratoire d’Astronomie de Marseille et l’Université de Montréal (Canada). Cet instrument est destiné à deux programmes scientifiques essentiels. Le premier programme consiste à observer le gaz ionisé dans des galaxies proches, observées par ailleurs dans tous les domaines de longueur d’onde au sol et dans l’espace. Le deuxième programme vise à détecter les galaxies à taux de formation élevé autour des quasars afin de vérifier si les quasars de forte luminosité dans l’ultraviolet inhibent la formation stellaire autour d’eux. Si cette observation se confirme, elle apportera de fortes contraintes aux modèles cosmologiques.

Le 3D-NTT permettra en outre une grande variété de programmes, plus particulièrement dédiés à l’étude de l’évolution des galaxies. Tous ces programmes sont particulièrement bien adaptés au mode Filtre Accordable. Le mode Haute résolution permettra d’étudier la cinématique et la dynamique d’objets particuliers galactiques ou extragalactiques (nébuleuses planétaires, galaxies particulières, galaxies en interaction…).


Zoom sur